Statement

My work in painting can essentially be qualified by the aesthetic of diversion that I develop within it. By re-appropriating a multitude of images, icons and pictorial approaches, I explore the possible discrepancies in representation. The popular icons that occupied an important place in my earlier works have progressively been replaced by images that have more to do with my everyday experience. This has considerably changed the narrative content of my work. This new narration borders on auto-fiction and it contributes more importantly to the singular meaning and affect of my work. In these recent paintings, I probe a more instinctive interiority and subjectivity that allow me to better reinterpret the specific subjects that are represented. The works are treated with a colorist approach, and in them, a strange and intimate world is staged in which images take the shape of allegories that question our relationship with existence.

I use digital technology at the initial conceptual stage of creating my images and I am also influenced by recent preoccupations in conceptual aesthetics. I am particularly interested in the creation of spaces that fluctuate between being bidimensional and tridimensional, as well as the difference between representation in painting and in digital photography. Even if my images sometimes limit on illustration, the importance of the material aspect of painting remains primordial to my practice.

I am especially attentive to the effects that are produced by the way works are positioned in an exhibition space, whether it is a single painting, a diptych, a polyptych, a mural or a painting installation that is being exhibited. I am particularly interested in this aspect, and I emphasize formal arrangements and the creation of unprecedented narratives that result from the ways in which different works interact with their exhibition spaces.

Démarche

Ma pratique en peinture se distingue essentiellement par l’esthétique du détournement que j’y développe. En me réappropriant une multitude d’images, d’icônes et d’approches picturales, j’explore les décalages possibles de la représentation. Les icônes populaires, qui occupaient une place importante dans mes tableaux antérieurs, ont progressivement été remplacées par des images plus proches de mon quotidien, changeant ainsi considérablement le propos narratif de mes oeuvres. Cette nouvelle narration, aux limites de l’autofiction et du récit personnel, contribue davantage au sens singulier et à l’affect des tableaux qu’auparavant. Dans ces récentes peintures, je sonde une intériorité et une subjectivité plus instinctive qui me permet de mieux réinterpréter spécifiquement les sujets qui y sont représentés. Traitées dans une approche de coloriste, les œuvres qui en résultent mettent en scène un monde étrange et intimiste dont les images prennent la forme d’allégories questionnant notre rapport face à l’existence.

Utilisant le numérique lors de la conception initiale de mes images picturales, je suis aussi influencé par les nouveaux questionnements esthétiques qu’il produit. La création d’espaces oscillant entre bidimensionnalité et tridimensionnalité ainsi que l’écart entre la représentation en peinture et en imagerie numérique me préoccupent plus particulièrement. Si mes images sont parfois aux limites de l’illustration, l’importance de la matière-peinture demeure par ailleurs un aspect incontournable de ma pratique picturale.

Je suis aussi attentif aux effets produits par la relation entre l’espace d’exposition et l’oeuvre, qu’il s’agisse d’un tableau, un diptyque, un polyptyque, une murale ou une installation-peinture. Je m’intéresse notamment aux rapprochements formels et narratifs inédits qui peuvent se produire entre les tableaux et leur lieu d’exposition.